Child support is a very important family law matter in New Jersey that many parents will have to address at some point or another. In order to address this matter on a broad scale, the State of New Jersey implemented the New Jersey Child Support Guidelines that aim to create a standard among parents who have a combined annual income of between $8,840 and $187,200.
There are many different factors that are taken into consideration when the court needs to make a decision on a child support obligation. Some of these factors include:
- The assets and liabilities of each parent
- The financial situation of each parent, including their income, assets, and liabilities
- The earning capacity of each parent
- The earning capacity or income of the child, if applicable
- The age and health of each parent
- The standard of living that the child had while his or her parents were married
- The custody arrangement
- The academic, social, and health needs of the child
Parents in New Jersey are obligated to make child support payments until the child is emancipated in the eyes of the state. Typically, the child is emancipated at age 19 years old unless they pursue higher education and may be able to be supported until they are 23 years old.
If you have questions about child support in New Jersey, contact our firm today.
Ross and Calandrillo, LLC is a full-service divorce, family, and real estate law firm located in Mountainside, New Jersey. For strong legal representation in all of your divorce or family law matters, contact Ross and Calandrillo, LLC to schedule a free consultation.