Making the decision to begin the process of divorce is certainly a difficult one for many people as divorce ends what is arguably the most significant chapter in one’s life. The first steps in any New Jersey divorce require the individual filing to determine whether they want to cite grounds for divorce or not. If the individual wishes to cite fault grounds in their divorce, they have several options but should be aware that there may be additional legal implications even before the divorce begins. There are a number of different fault grounds that they may choose from, including the following:
- Extreme cruelty
If the individual does not want to cite fault and chooses to have a no-fault divorce, they will simply have to fulfill the requirements that there were irreconcilable differences for at least a 6 month period before filing and/or that they were separated for at least 18 months. Generally speaking, no-fault divorces are much simpler than divorces that cite fault grounds. For this reason, no-fault divorces are becoming increasingly more popular and can get the divorce started sooner. Citing no-fault divorce can make the complicated process of divorce just a little less complex.
If you have questions about divorce in New Jersey, contact our firm today.
Ross and Calandrillo, LLC is a full-service divorce, family, and real estate law firm located in Mountainside, New Jersey. For strong legal representation in all of your divorce or family law matters, contact Ross and Calandrillo, LLC to schedule a free consultation.