When a child’s parents have to share custody, there are a lot of different factors that will come into play. One of those factors is child support, which requires the noncustodial parent to make payments to the custodial payment that go towards caring for the child. Of course, the biggest question that people have when they are ordered to pay child support is how much they will be required to pay. In New Jersey, parents are obligated to pay child support for a child until they turn 19 years old. In some cases, it can be extended until the child turns 23 years old.
New Jersey has a formula that determines how much the noncustodial parent is required to pay. This formula takes a number of different factors into consideration when determining an amount for the parent to pay. These factors include:
- the percentage of parenting time
- gross income including:
- imputed income
- Social Security Disability
- Workers’ Compensation
- income tax credits
- gambling winnings
- overtime pay
- alimony and spousal maintenance
- filing status
- previous support orders
It is important that you make all of your child support payments on time and in full. If you fail to do so, you may be subject to wage garnishing or being held in contempt of court. If you have questions about obtaining an order for child support or for enforcing a child support order, contact an experienced family law attorney today for assistance.
Ross and Calandrillo, LLC is a full-service divorce, family, and real estate law firm in Mountainside, New Jersey. For strong legal representation in all of your family law matters, contact Ross and Calandrillo, LLC to schedule a free consultation.